Blacklist and whitelist are terms commonly used in IT world and cybersecurity to indicate something is allowed, or not allowed. According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, defines the word “blacklist” as “a list of banned or excluded things of disreputable character,” its first known use dates back to 1624.
Blacklists and whitelists are important tools in cybersecurity, as they help to prevent unauthorized or malicious access to systems and services.
A blacklist is a list of items (such as IP addresses, email addresses, or domain names) that are blocked or denied access to a particular system or service. These items may be blocked for many reasons, such as, being known or associated with malicious or unwanted activity, such as spamming, hacking, or malware (aka their internet reputation) A blacklist can be used to prevent access to a system or service by known bad actors, and to protect the system or service from being used for malicious purposes.
A whitelist is a list of items (such as IP addresses, email addresses, or domain names) that are explicitly allowed access to a particular system or service. These items are considered to be safe and trusted, and are not blocked or denied access. A whitelist can be used to ensure that only authorized or known-good actors can access a system or service, and to protect the system or service from unauthorized or malicious access. Whitelisting is the opposite of blacklisting, where a list of items are restricted or prohibited.
However, it’s worth noting that both whitelists and blacklists are not perfect solutions and have their own limitations. They can be difficult to maintain and update, and new malicious actors and IP addresses can be added all the time. They might also cause false positives, blocking legitimate access. Therefore, it’s important to use them as a complementary tool with other security measures such as firewalls, intrusion detection and prevention systems, and antivirus software.
nadar CyberSecurity Hardware Device is able to keep up with blacklists and is updated 4 times a day, so you and your IT department can spend your time elsewhere.